Jogye Order of Korean Buddhism

The body of the shortcut

Temples Major Temples of the Jogye Order
The Three Jewel Temples

Major Temples of the Jogye Order

Jogye Order of Korean Buddhism

For centuries, Korea has had three sacred sites called the Three Jewel Temples, providing the foundation of Buddhist faith. Tongdosa Temple represents the Buddha, Haeinsa Temple represents the dharma/teachings, and Songgwangsa Temple represents the sangha/noble community.

Tongdosa Temple has a major Buddha relic shrine in Korea where Vinaya Master Jajang of the Silla era enshrined Buddha cremains. It is called the Buddha Jewel Temple in the sense that it enshrines the true body of the Buddha. Haeinsa Temple is the Dharma Jewel Temple that preserves the Tripitaka Koreana (Korean Buddhist canon) woodblocks, and the repositories named Janggyeong Panjeon; the Tripitaka Koreana is registered on the Memory of the World List by UNESCO, and the repositories on the World Heritage List. Haeinsa is called the Dharma Jewel Temple as it enshrines the teachings of the Buddha. Songgwangsa Temple was designated the Sangha Jewel Temple for its outstanding history of monastic practice, which since the Goryeo era has produced sixteen state preceptors.

The Jogye Order has five comprehensive monastic training complexes (chongnim). A chongnim is a temple equipped with three institutions of learning: a seonwon (Seon center) which specializes in Seon practice for practitioners; a gangwon (monastic college) which teaches/studies sutras, and a yurwon (Vinaya institute) which specializes in Vinaya rules. At present, seven Korean temples have been designated as chongnim: Haein Chongnim at Haeinsa Temple, Jogye Chongnim at Songgwangsa Temple, Yeongchuk Chongnim at Tongdosa Temple, Deoksung Chongnim at Sudeoksa Temple, Palgong Chongnim at Donghwasa Temple, Ssangye Chongnim at Ssanggyesa Temple, and Geumjeong Chongnim at Beomeosa Temple.

(03144) 55, Ujeongguk-ro, Jongno-gu, Seoul, Republic of KoreaTEL : +82-2-2011-1830FAX: +82-2-735-0614E-MAIL: